Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Good draw weight for NA Big Game? >

Good draw weight for NA Big Game?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Good draw weight for NA Big Game?

Old 04-01-2007, 11:13 PM

Default Good draw weight for NA Big Game?

I'm a newbie to bowhunting and trying to decide what is a good all around draw weight to hunt just about any North American big game with. I was at Bass Pro all morning shooting bows and trying them at different draw weights to see which was most comfortable to shoot over and over. Granted some of my strugglewas learning to use muscles I thoughtI never had or just retraining them to pull some of the heavier draw weights and I'm sure with a lil practice it would be no problem. But anyways, I started shooting @ 75lbs and that got old after a couple pulls. Knocked it down to about 55-60lbs and shot real consistent at that weight. Even if I went down to 55lbs is that sufficient for hunting something as large as an elk if the shot was within 40yds? And secondly, if I bought a bow that a weight range of 60-70lbs and had it @ 55lbs (they actually did that on one of the bows today), how would that affect the bow other than being a lil slower. Could it damage it over time shooting it lower than its specified range? I need to start working out again!!! LOL
Old 04-02-2007, 12:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Good draw weight for NA Big Game?

55# and up is plenty.
Old 04-02-2007, 05:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

bumping this to the top, would like to here some input on this also
Old 04-02-2007, 08:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

I would say a mininum of 45...just for the whitetail and muleyand at least 55 for the elk and up.
Old 04-02-2007, 08:03 AM

Shooting your bow at lower then peak weight will not damage it that I know of.........it just will not perform as well as it would at peak weight.