HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Ground Blinds... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/186689-ground-blinds.html)

jmjuergensen 04-01-2007 11:17 AM

Ground Blinds...

Hi everyone -

I'm new to bow hunting this year, and just recently purchased my first bow (Fred Bear Instinct). I'm really looking forward to this fall and hopefully bagging my first buck with a bow. I just had a quick question for everyone. Has anyone ever used a ground blind for bow hunting? I'm really considering picking one up, but what people with experience though of them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

janesburg 04-01-2007 11:24 AM

RE: Ground Blinds...

Never bought one. I've made a few with dead falls and have had some luck. But, I would suggest getting in a treestand if you can.

MichaelHunsucker 04-01-2007 11:48 AM

I would also recommend gettin in a tree stand but if you want to hunt from the ground i would definately suggest a natural ground blind such as a cedar or pine tree. If you just got pop up a double bull the deer will notice something different in their environment and will get spooky most of the time. If you are going to use some sort of pop up blind and cant leave it out then you will just have to brush it in like crazy to break up the outline.

AR Bowhunter 04-01-2007 12:01 PM

I have a holly tree that I have cut the limbs from the bottom so I can back up against the base of the tree. It is surrounded by vines an a bigger tree behind it. I am going to get a deer from underneath that tree this year, I hope. I am going to throw some camo netting across the front to help break up the area where I will be setting.

trophy time 04-01-2007 12:41 PM