Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 HUNTN in the RAIN >

HUNTN in the RAIN

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

HUNTN in the RAIN

Old 11-11-2006, 09:42 AM
Fork Horn

Default HUNTN in the RAIN

Hey this might sound like a dumb question to alot of people but this is my first year actually bowhunting by myself, and yesterday i was out in the afternoon and i got there it was drizzling and then it turned to sleet then a heavy rain. What is some suggestions about hunting in the rain, should i have stayed out or just wait for the weather to get better?
Old 11-11-2006, 09:55 AM
Spike

Default RE: HUNTN in the RAIN

If you can stick it out, I have found that the deer get really active after a front passes. Now I wont tell ya that I will sit on stand for4 hours in the puoring rain waiting for the front to pass, because that doesnt sound like much fun. But a light rain, I will sit through everytime, especially a morning shower.
Old 11-11-2006, 09:55 AM

It's been my experience that light drizzles and even "light rains" won't bother the deer a bit. The full-on storms shut them down though. Then, they'll be right back to what they're doing the next morning. Or if its a morning storm it makes evening hunting very worthwile. I usually try to stay until it gets unbearable...wind is the major culprit here, I don't have any special rain gear but really don't feel I need it. For me its always about keeping the wind out. Do realize that sleet can make getting down a tree a little tricky and to keep that stuff off your equipment.
Old 11-11-2006, 10:13 AM
Spike

If it is a light to moderate rain, sit tight if you can handle it. The rain helps you from a scent standpoint.

As the other posters indicated, right after a heavy storm can be fantastic. One other thing to consider, if you feel you have the desire..