Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 new bowhunter...passin up a buck >

new bowhunter...passin up a buck

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

new bowhunter...passin up a buck

Old 11-07-2006, 02:22 PM

Default new bowhunter...passin up a buck

Hello, I'm kind of new to bowhunting. I been bowhunting for 2 years and still nothing. I'm getting a little discouraged, but I had my bow drawn at a 6 pointer the other day. He was probably rightat 20 yards, but....I passed him up. He was real small,andlast year I got a real nice 15 point with my .243, so I'm trying to manage the place for big bucks....but should I have done that? I never got anything with my bow, but I stopped myself from shooting him. I tried on a doe, but she was thick in brush and could not make out a good shot. Also, is blind hunting a good method? Setting it up the day of, would it scare deer?
Old 11-07-2006, 02:30 PM

Default RE: new bowhunter...passin up a buck

A first bow buck is a big deal, but since you are trying to manage your property and you have alreadytaken what sounds like a great buck with your rifle, I think you made the right decision. However, it is always good to get that first one under your belt. As far as blind hunting, it can be good if set up right, but I always prefer a treestand set up. As far as spooking deer, if you go in their mid day, wear gloves ( don't touch anything with your bare hands), make minimal noise, you should have no problem hunting that same day from it. Many times I have hung a stand midday, and sceen deer/shot a bucks that night.....
Old 11-07-2006, 02:34 PM
Fork Horn