Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 First deer (Doe)! With pics! >

First deer (Doe)! With pics!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First deer (Doe)! With pics!

Old 11-04-2006, 05:04 PM
Fork Horn

Default First deer (Doe)! With pics!

Hi all, I am an avid reader of this website andjust wanted to share with you all my first Deer ever! This is my first year hunting & I head out this morning for my 4th time of the season (the previous four times I did not see anything that resembled a Deer). I get to my stand about 7:30 or so & as I am pulling up my bow I hear a deer coming from behind me. I did not even have my bow unclipped or my back pack off and the Doe was standing directly under me. As I stand up & draw, the Doe continues on and she is facing away from me & offered no shot. I let the bow down and next thing I know there are two more Does coming from behind me. They bothwere yearlings so I just watched and realized that there was a fourth deer coming as well. I watched and waited for her to get close and then spotted a nice10 point big buck behind her (I have never seen this Buck before this morning). The Doe came under me, but the damn buck stopped and went around me offering no shot. He definitely knew something was not right. The Does cont. on and the buck went the other way. I rattled and the Buck came charging back in but again stopped about 50 yards out and stood there smelling me for ten minutes. He then wandered off again. I rattled and grunted but he lost all interest. I rattled about 15 minutes later & a small spike came in and put on a show for me -he was cool to watch. At this point things got quiet & I decided to take a little buck lure & drip it on the ground under my stand. About 15 minutes later I was starting to think about heading in for lunch but then caught movement and noticed that there were several D