Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 First year bowhunting and no shot yet!! >

First year bowhunting and no shot yet!!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First year bowhunting and no shot yet!!

Old 10-31-2006, 03:09 PM

Default First year bowhunting and no shot yet!!

This is my first year bowhunting and I have not been fortunate to shoot at anything yet. I know it is coming though. I have seen a ton of animals, just this morning I had a doe, spike and 6 point 42 yards from my stand for 40 minutes but they never came any closer. This has happened to me many times. They dont smell me I just havent been in the right place at the right time. This morning 15 turkeys joined the deer actually and it is turkey season also in pa. I thought I would have gotten a shot at something but no luck. The funny part is I am having a blast. I am enjoying hunting more doing this than I ever have before.

thanks for listening. Hopefully my next post will have a picture attachment.

Old 10-31-2006, 03:13 PM

Default RE: First year bowhunting and no shot yet!!

Just be sure not to overhunt that stand. If you're in it too much they seem to figure it out and avoid that spot. You may want to shift the location if they are staying consistantly out of range. I always find that the first time in a stand is the best.
Old 10-31-2006, 03:30 PM
Typical Buck

They'll come around sooner or later. Have you thought about moving the stand? I am also in my first year of bow hunting and have yet to get anything either, they are coming in but not close enough. Being it is my first year I won't get too upset is I cant get anything. Atleast you are still enjoying yourself out there, that is half the fun! Now go and work on getting us a pic! Good luck and welcome to the site.
Brandon
Old 10-31-2006, 03:38 PM
Typical Buck