Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bowhunting..is it ethical?? >

Bowhunting..is it ethical??

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bowhunting..is it ethical??

Old 10-28-2006, 10:03 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Bowhunting..is it ethical??

Well fellows,
I've heard it said by many that shooting a deer with a bow is more humane than a rifle.I kind of have a passive personality so I don't argue alot. But...I'm not stupid and as a teacher I make lots of observations.

I will make this post brief and to the point. After I've read nearly all of the post,I've read where some deer are not found and some have wondered 100s of yards away. I have only killed 4 deer in my life. All four were killed where I shot them.{With a rifle}

Bowhunting is extremely exciting and it also allows extra scouting time. However; after reading all of these stories I'm a little grieved with some of the post and will only make shots I know will hit the vitals effectively. Also , after reading these post I will spend much more time practicing. My hats are off to the group of you who have passed up shots where you were not 100% sure. I'm now a member of your group. Although I'm a hunter , I still have a heart.
c7
Old 10-28-2006, 10:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Bowhunting..is it ethical??

Its all about shot placement.9/10 times, If I place a bullet and a arrow in the same spot, the arrow almost always kills faster because of the "clean cut", which allows the deer to bleed out a lot faster than a bullettearing flesh and falling apartas it goes.But then again, sometime you hit them just right with a gun and it drops them in there tracks.
Old 10-28-2006, 10:24 AM
Nontypical Buck