Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Expandables....Recommend One? >

Expandables....Recommend One?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Expandables....Recommend One?

Old 09-04-2006, 04:42 PM

Default RE: Expandables....Recommend One?

I'm not sure what the min. speed would be and I'm not an expert on the subject but my nephew is shooting a Parker Challenger at #50 and is using the 85gr. Reapers and killed two does last year with them and both were pass thrus. I'm not sure of his speed but would think it to be similar to your setup. I know that when I first started using expandables that I was shooting bows pulling #70 and wasn't gettin much more than 235 fps out of them with my short DL and heavy aluminum arrows. I think you'd be fine shooting a good sharp expandable with a reasonable cutting diameter.
Old 09-04-2006, 05:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

marden , vortex ,100 grain pro hunters , they are 2 blade 1 1/2" cut .
Old 09-04-2006, 05:46 PM
Typical Buck

I shot 3 mech's last year to see what the fuss was & they all worked fine. Grim reaper 100's, Tekan's on deer & Rocky mountain Revolutions on turkeys, I'da shot a deer with them but when it was their turn turkeys came by.
Anyway I had a weird experience with steel heads the year before & was leary of jacknife type heads. The grim reapers made it thru deer fine, I'm only getting 220FPS or so with a 55o grain arrow.
The tekans IMO will open alot easier tho & were just as deadly. They open on writing paper. One of mine hit the spine & lost a blade but I drilled it & honestly think most expandables would have broken/bent blades.

The new Tekan2's suposedly adress this anyway. I know if I was shooting lighter tackle & wanted a mech head I would use em.
Mostly I use fixed heads anyway but I still have some flippy ones to use up.
Old 09-04-2006, 06:56 PM