Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Scent Control

Old 08-18-2006, 09:06 PM
Typical Buck

Default Scent Control

What do all of you do to try to eliminate your scent while you are out hunting.
Old 08-19-2006, 08:02 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Scent Control

I try to be as slow as possible to eliminate sweating to the stand.I usually dont completely dress untilI get to the stand. ( coat ) I also spray down with a scent eliminating spray, before and during the hunt and I hang my stands about 20 to 25 ft, playing the wind is the biggest thing. I think you could go in your work clothes if you just used the wind but thats impossible sometimes. Im still learning new things every yr.
Old 08-19-2006, 11:43 AM
Dominant Buck

Watch the wind and have it in your face , nothing is more effective than that . Gimmicks won't save you from a whitetail .
Old 08-19-2006, 12:25 PM
Typical Buck

SENTLOC
Old 08-19-2006, 01:36 PM
Typical Buck

I know wind is the biggest factor. I am talking scent control though. To try and eliminate your human odor as much you can.

Does anybody walk way out of their way to get to the stand so they don't end up crossing a deer trail?
Wear boots that don't breathe so you don't leave a scent behind, special care of clothing, dress outside the pickup/vehicle so you don't pickip foriegn odors on your way out to the stand..anything like that. I think I am going to be very cautious of my scent this year.
In the past, I have gotten dressed. went out sprayed down with some scent eliminator spray and tried to play the wind best I could.