HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Broadheads (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/150957-broadheads.html)

ddeblance 08-08-2006 02:22 PM

Broadheads

Ok, I'm new to hunting with a bow. I've been 3D shooting since 91' and I'vehunted most of my life with shotgun and rifle.Now I'm on a lease I can startbow hunting.
So question(s)
What are the differences in broadheads?? Do I look for a different broadhead for different game?
What about price difference? What are ya'lls recommendations for inexpensive broadheads for these Texas whitetail??

Thanks
-D

HuntingEd 08-08-2006 02:28 PM

RE: Broadheads

Magnus stinger, fairly cheap, great quality and accuracy.

Thats my vote, I assume you know how to tune a bow, so that shooting a fixed blade head wont be a problem.

SPIKEHORN11 08-08-2006 02:36 PM

I shoot Muzzy 3 blade 100 gr. But I am starting to look at some cut on contact BH's like Wasp Sharp shooter.

ddeblance 08-08-2006 02:42 PM

What about the question, is there a different BH for different game??

-D

flyfishpj 08-08-2006 03:33 PM

Not neccesarily. You can use one type of broad head for most game. However, a lot of people have their big game broadheads and then ones made for small game. Most people that hunt turkey have a designated one for that also.

mobow 08-08-2006 04:10 PM

There are several different styles. Cut on Contact, replaceable blade, mechanical and low profile.

Cut on contact heads are just like they sound. The sharp edge goes all the way to the tip. These are just superb, all around heads. Especially for lower poundage shooters who need the added penetration. Personally, my broadhead of choice is the Magnus Stinger, which is a COC.