Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Don't Do This....DUHHH >

Don't Do This....DUHHH

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Don't Do This....DUHHH

Old 05-05-2006, 08:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Don't Do This....DUHHH

Hey guys, been a while but I'm back with a little no no that you want to avoid. I have a Morrel Yellowjacket "Broadhead" target. The target is shot up pretty good both with broadheads and fieldpoints. I was shooting yesterday evening, with both broadheads and field tips. The only problem with the field tips is the target seals up around them causing a royal pain to pull the arrows, even with a good puller. So, anyway I started shooting the field tips into the more shot out regions of the target for ease of removal. I put 3 arrows in a very small group in the center of the target but they buried past the fletching. So what do I do? Yeah, you guessed it, I placed the gripper on the backside(exit) of the target to try and push the arrows back out the front. DUMB, DUMB, DUMB. I saw it coming but not quick enough. Wound up the gripper slid down the arrow and an adjacent arrow tip buried about 1" in the good ole meaty portion between the index and thumb of my right hand. Please, do not try this at home. Hindsight is 20 20, so I removed the tips after much bleeding and squealing and swearing, then pushed the arrows out. Still, even this way is dangerous, so be careful. We have all seen the results of a splintered carbon arrow penetrating a hand. Not a pretty sight either. The best answer is "DON"T USE A BROADHEAD TARGET FOR FIELD TIPS!"[X(]LT
Old 05-05-2006, 08:20 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Don't Do This....DUHHH

Sorry to hear what happened. But thanks for sharing. It's a good reminder to everyone to watch what your doing and just take your time. Heal quick!!

Pat
Old 05-05-2006, 08:33 PM
Boone & Crockett