Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec and have some questions >

Bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec and have some questions

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec and have some questions

Old 03-03-2006, 07:50 PM
Fork Horn

Default Bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec and have some questions

Well I bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t know didly about compound bows. I’m new to the whole sport and have a couple of questions.

What brands of sights are considered to be good ones? I don’t know the difference in what makes a sight better than another or what type or brand most of you prefer. Then there’s the stabilizer. Is there a general size or length that I should consider? What’s the rule of thumb that everyone goes by?

I don’t know who’s more excited about the bow, my son or me. I do now this, he sticks to me like glue regardless of what I’m doing so I’m thinking this summer should be a lot of fun for both of us. We signed him up for a 4H archery class and he’s having a blast so far shooting the recurve bows.

I’m hoping my oldest son age 12 will show some interest in bows and want one as well but for now he’s partial to computers and doesn’t care much for hunting or target shooting.
Old 03-03-2006, 07:55 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bought my 8 year old son a Hoyt Rintec and have some questions

Most companys are making pretty good sights these days. I would recomend one that is rugged for your young son. For him I think a six inch stabalizer would be good. Just start him out with some walmart stuff and you can replace it cheap. have fun with your boy.
Old 03-03-2006, 07:58 PM
Typical Buck