Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Accuracy standard before taking to the woods? >

Accuracy standard before taking to the woods?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Accuracy standard before taking to the woods?

Old 12-04-2005, 05:37 PM
Fork Horn

Default Accuracy standard before taking to the woods?

I'm new to bowhunting and I just want to know what is YOUR standard before you take to the woods in the hopes of scoring a kill? I've only been practicing a few days now and now I'm wondering just exactly I should be trying to accomplish as far as accuracy is concerned. At 12 yards, inside the house at ground level, I can move my hits to all 5 dots on the block target at will. I havn't tried any 20,30 or 40 yard shots yet, but I'm just wondering what type of accuracy I should be striving for. It wouldn't be fair to the deer if I didn't make a killing shot and I'd be pissed if I missed as well. Your thoughts please.........
Old 12-04-2005, 05:48 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Accuracy standard before taking to the woods?

I would say 20 yds a 3 inch group would be pretty good. Sounds like you could probably handel that. Put the target outside and give it a try.
Old 12-04-2005, 05:51 PM

Well....for me it's the ability to put 3 arrows in a group
of no more than 6" at 45 yards. Of course this is in the vital area,
not the gut! For me aiming low cuz it's usually farther than I guess.
Some guys can nail tacks and ruin arrows/nocks, but I just dont get
out to the range enough. I'm going to make it a point to shoot more this next year and
get that group tighter.

Old 12-04-2005, 05:54 PM
Giant Nontypical

Keeping all your shots in a 4" circle at your maximum distance under simulated hunting conditions. (hunting clothes, with broadheads and in the positions you will shoot from) Even though I practice out to 50 yds I won't shoot past 30.