HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   How much camouflage? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/122257-how-much-camouflage.html)

Jim Malone 11-23-2005 05:36 AM

How much camouflage?

As i am new to bowhunting i have a question. How much camouflage do you really need? I have full "flecktarn" german hunting gear, and a camouflage net and hood. I have read about putting leaves and branches with your gear to mask the scent, but how much is too much? I would like to sharpen my stalking techniques, because i think i won't be able to shoot good enough this season, but reading thru different posts makes me wonder if i realy need all those scent removers , cough suppressors, and high tech (and expensive)stuff? I know not to use strong aftershave and i don't smoke but sometimes it seems you can only spotwildlife if you turn yourself into a tree![&:]

Mathewsboy 11-23-2005 05:50 AM

RE: How much camouflage?

The indians killed MANY MANY deer back in the day.. Did they have all the Gimmicks we have?

I shoot most of my bucks with just camo bibs on and a black/gray shirt jacket underneath, a camo hat and thats it... Play the WIND.. Most important aspect. If they know you are there, your screwed before you even know it.

kevin1 11-23-2005 06:42 AM

If your stealth skills are better than mine , and whose aren't , you don't really need camo at all . Generations of hunters have taken millions of deer without it , but it doesn't hurt . Play the wind as Matthewsboy suggested , and always be quieter than the wind noise . Pause often , listen closely , and move slowly .

Flecktar may actually be a somewhat poor choice since the pattern is very dense and "closes up" quickly . The only flecktar pattern that I've ever thought was useable for hunting is their tropical pattern . Here's an example:
Tropical flecktar pattern