Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Using Bow during Gun Season? >

Using Bow during Gun Season?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Using Bow during Gun Season?

Old 11-17-2005, 12:06 AM

Default RE: Using Bow during Gun Season?

Like someone already said, here in OK, you can hunt through all season with a bow. This is only my third year hunting, second with a bow. Got my first doe with a rifle last year and my first deer (and first buck) with a bow this year. I've thought about only using my bow all season because I enjoy bow hunting a lot more. It's more of a challenge to take a deer with a bow. I don't think I'm going to start bow only hunting yet since I'm still new to hunting. I'd like to have a few more deer under my belt. If I understand the laws correctly, you are allowed to carry both methods of taking game durring the gun or muzzleloader (ie. you can carry your bow durring muzzle or rifle season). I plan to take both out durring rifle season this year and if someting comes in close, I'll take it with my bow....more then 40 yards out, I'll use the rifle. I hope to start bow hunting only in the next couple of years. It's just a lot more exciting bringing them close.
Old 11-17-2005, 06:28 AM
Typical Buck

One hunts with a bow and kills with a gun.
Old 11-17-2005, 07:45 AM