Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

NY rut

Old 11-14-2005, 06:59 AM
Fork Horn

Default NY rut

My son and I huntedSaturday and Sunday and saw nothing (I saw 2 bucks the 2 previous weeks).
NY hunters, let me know if you think the rut is in full swing yet.
I talked to a local guy who says it's heating up.
Old 11-14-2005, 09:57 AM

Default RE: NY rut

It absolutely is, where are you hunting in ny?
Old 11-14-2005, 11:07 AM

I am a rookie but i was in hancock new york huntinig this weekend and a hunting shop owner said it is not a full rut yet, but it is heating up so maybe that is what everyone says but i did not see one buck and saw 9 does so i do not think it is a full rut yet.
Old 11-14-2005, 11:22 AM
Giant Nontypical

I don't know, we saw a lot of action toward the end of October. But since then, have not seen much at all. High temperatures and wind conditions lately could have turned them nocturnal. Seen a lot of dead one's in the road the past few weeks also. I have a feeling that they have been rutting now for a little while, but have turned nocturnal. My buddy just called in though and saw two bucks this morning. Too bad we lost this coming weekend to the gun hunters. Oh well, I'm going out tomorrow, I'll let you know what I saw.
Old 11-14-2005, 11:29 AM

Alot of times in ny durring full rut the big bucks goe nocturnal...
Old 11-14-2005, 11:36 AM

[&:]I went out this morning.TOO warm to start with.Thenat just first light,in comes the wind,,ALOT ofwind [:@].The deer don't move in on this bedding area when it's windy.I have the worst luck.I'm on va ca this week,and I'll have no time to go out after this week.Gotta git er doneone of these mornings.I did'nt see one rub in the area.
I felt real good about that,too []
Old 11-14-2005, 02:54 PM
Typical Buck