Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 broadhead flight? >

broadhead flight?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

broadhead flight?

Old 11-07-2005, 10:35 AM
Typical Buck

Default broadhead flight?

Friday evening I filled a doe tag & while everything worked out I didn't hit where I thought I was aiming. The deer was walking thru & didn't stop when I voice grunted. At 25 yards I put the pin a little high on the shoulder thinking there would be a little drop and the pace of the deer would cause the arrow to hit the lung area. The arrow actually hit the neck and cut the main artery. The arrow was stuck in a log and I dug it out the next day. Everything looked good so I decided to check it out. The arrow hit 6" low @ 20yds. I switched the broadhead to another arrow & the same thing happened. So I started shooting my other arrows with the same result. I shot these arrows & broadheads last year with no problem. After consentrating on form I got my groups to be 3-4 inches low w/ broadheads. They stayed dead on w/ field points. I'm shooting carbon express 300s w/ 125 thunderheads in a matthews ovation set @ 65# & 31" draw length. The arrows are 29 1/2" shooting thru a matthews overdraw. Any thoughts on what might have happened here? I plan to try a few things tonight @ home, but would like any input.
Old 11-07-2005, 10:43 AM
mez
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: broadhead flight?

Start with a paper tune if you can. Your rest or nock point has likely moved enough in a year to put your bow a little out of tune. There is a good lesson in that, glad you found the deer.
Old 11-07-2005, 10:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

Didn't you practice before this season with your bow? I know no one from Kansas would hunt without practice.
Old 11-07-2005, 11:33 AM
Typical Buck