HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Just wondering how they do it? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/116045-just-wondering-how-they-do.html)

MR.D 10-09-2005 07:27 AM

Just wondering how they do it?

In several pics posted of successful hunters with their deer I noticed that some deer are not field dressed. Some pics are at the homeand some are in vehicles. Where do you people gut these deer? Dont get me wrong I am NOT criticizing you I just want to know if I have been doing it the hard way for the past 30+ years.
Thanks

Mathewsboy 10-09-2005 08:08 AM

RE: Just wondering how they do it?

I wonder that too..!

I always gut the deer where I shoot it, maybe sometimes I'll drag it a little ways.. But dragging a deer at least 1/4 of a mile still not dressed? Thats just crazy.

AF Hunter 10-09-2005 08:09 AM

Personally, I field dress as soon as I kill (after the picture of course). I guess it would be personal preference.

Paul L Mohr 10-09-2005 08:46 AM

I think most of them are field dressed, you just can't see it. Some people field dress a deer differently. Some just cut a small opening and pull everything out of it instead of splitting the pelvis and really opening the deer up. This is how I was taught to do it. I trim around the anus, remove the sexual organs then slit the windpipe at the throat. Then I make a small incision under the breast bone. Big enough to get both hands in. Then remove the intestines. After that I cut the diaphram reach in side and remove the lungs, heart and windpipe. It's not quite as easy as it sounds, but it works and very little meat is exposed or touched.