Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Who got you into Bowhunting >

Who got you into Bowhunting

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.
View Poll Results: A poll
Dad
20.90%
Brother
5.08%
Hunting Buddy
19.21%
Other Relative
9.60%
Other
14.12%
Self
31.07%
Voters: 177. You may not vote on this poll

Who got you into Bowhunting

Old 10-06-2005, 09:45 AM

Default Who got you into Bowhunting

I'm sorry if this has been asked before.

I'm new to bowhunting and was just curious how everyone got involved/exposed to bowhunting.

My Dad originally got me involved in hunting but he never bowhunted. I got into bow hunting by my future brother-in-law.
Old 10-06-2005, 09:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Who got you into Bowhunting

My dad got me into hunting. He didn't really ever get serious about bowhunting though unfortunately. My best friend/neighbor in middle school, his father was a bowhunter and a guy that I looked up to very much at that age, who helped my family with a lot of things. He was possibly one of the best hunters I have ever known, he consistently killed deer with a bow or gun in Vermont every year, which is very difficult to do in Vermont.
Old 10-06-2005, 09:57 AM
Giant Nontypical

My mother and father both shot competition archery in the 60's.
Old 10-06-2005, 10:00 AM

My grandfather got one of those old bear 76er takedown recurves..

He tried archery and didnt like it.. So I told him i would archery hunt when I got old enough. Now.. No one in my family archery hunted.. Some of the guys that my grandfather worked at the hardware storewith were archers.. They got me set up using that old bear when I was 10. 40# recurve.. I shot that for two years and then for xmas of my12th birthday I got my first compound.

Old 10-06-2005, 10:05 AM