HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   old rub lines (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/105955-old-rub-lines.html)

gove 07-18-2005 05:14 PM

old rub lines

I am new to bowhunting , only starting last year. During a recent preseason scout I found a series of old rubs with somethat appear to have occurred last year. I did not find any scrapes. Is this a good place to set up a blind or a tree stand? or are scrapes a better spot to set up. Also has anyone tried mock scapes?

Mathewsboy 07-18-2005 05:37 PM

RE: old rub lines

I do really well on RUB Lines. I do most of my scouting looking for rubs..

shed33 07-18-2005 06:10 PM

Gove,

First off, welcome aboard. Second there are many on here that I am sure will be glad to pitch in on the three topics you bring up.

1. Rub lines, 2. Scrapes and 3. Mock Scrapes.

I have a little experience with whitetails as many do here and from what I have experienced in my neck of the woods on public ground whitetails, rub lines exist for about 3 reasons. One being a bucks feeding travel routes leaving his core area on his way to food, he's building up his muscles for the rut and he starts the day he sheds his velvet in late August to early September. 2. Rub lines constructed in regards to his rutting travels later in the fall that often lead to and from his scraping areas and 3rd clusters of staging rubs in and around a food source, often just inside the timber edge of a field that are often not visited until after dark.