Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Has anyone switched from carbons back to aluminum >

Has anyone switched from carbons back to aluminum

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Has anyone switched from carbons back to aluminum

Old 05-12-2005, 11:41 AM

Default Has anyone switched from carbons back to aluminum

I was wondering if anyone has switched back to aluminums and why?
Old 05-12-2005, 12:30 PM
Spike

Default RE: Has anyone switched from carbons back to aluminum

I just started playing around with the idea in the past two weeks. I have been shooting carbon arrows for the past three years and have had some issues with the difference in the quality from one arrow to the next. I will not list the companies that I have tried, but they have been high end in most cases. Out of a dozen, I am able to get maybe eight that will be within two or three grains of each other and that will spin great with broad heads. I am not big on speed; due to I only hunt in areas that I get 20-yard max shots. I started playing around with some old XX78 2413's that I had and noticed right of the bat they were a whole lot quieter the my carbons. What really impressed me is when I went to the range and started shooting two 2413's and two carbons at 20 yards, they hit the same spot every time. For a person like me that only shoots deer at 20 yards or less, I was surprised. I don't shot 3D or spots so I am only a hunter and liked how much quieter the Aluminum arrows were compared to the carbons. I will continue to shot both over the summer and will make my mind up at the end of August on which ones will be in my quiver for hunting, but right now it looks like the Aluminums
Old 05-12-2005, 01:43 PM