HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting Gear Review (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review-31/)
-   -   First Bow, Your thoughts please... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review/67544-first-bow-your-thoughts-please.html)

thndrchiken 07-29-2004 06:04 PM

First Bow, Your thoughts please...

Finally decided to try my hand at bowhunting, what are your thoughts on this package bow? I'm just starting and don't want to break the bank just yet. My main concern is to buy something that will give me enough service to learn on and have for the first few years until I'm ready to upgrade. The bow I looking at is a PSE Marauder package, here is the link. Any comments are appreciated. Thanks, Rick
http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...l_A&_DAV=email

RIStrutStopper 07-29-2004 09:48 PM

RE: First Bow, Your thoughts please...

In my opinion, though I'm not an expert, you should go to a pro shop, get yourself measured for draw length, and shoot a few different bows to see what you feel comfortable with. No matter how good the package deal sounds, if its not exactly adjusted to your draw length or if you are not comfortable with it, you are cheating yourself. At the very least, make sure the bow you buy can be adjusted to your draw length and you are comfortable with the weight (dont over-bow).

Roland from Calif. 07-30-2004 11:14 AM

You're really best off giong to the local pro shop and getting set up correctly. Most of them have equipment that might be a year old that would equal the price of what your going to spend at Cabelas. I'd also recommend that you find what fits you best and spend what ever is required to get it. Most bowhunters start with a mid-range bow and find that they want to upgrade after six months and end spending more than if they would have just got what they wanted to begin with.

Krotalus 07-30-2004 11:47 AM