Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Arrow preference

Old 08-19-2004, 05:35 AM

Default RE: Arrow preference

Beman Ics for me.
Old 08-23-2004, 09:50 AM

I have been using the Carbon Express CX Hunters for 2 years now and am very happy with them. I use the CX200 shafts with my bow set at 65#. The chart says that this spine is too weak but it is what works the best from my setup. I harvested a very nice 8 point last year with one. Shot him at 23 yards with a clean pass through that slammed into the shale ground behind him. All I did was wash off the arrow, inspect it and replace the blades in the tip before taking a doe with the same arrow 2 weeks later.
I have tried Bemans, Eastons and Gold Tips. All of these are nice arrows but I get the best consistency with the Carbon Express shafts.
I guess my point is this, no one can tell you what shaft will be the best from your particular setup. You will have to experiment with several different brands and sizes. The charts aren't always correct as in my case. If you can get arrows in 1/2 dozen quantities from you local shop, it will be cheaper to find the ones that you like. Then you can always sell the ones you don't want to friends or on eBay to recoup some of your cost. Make sure that your fletching doesn't contact your bow or rest during launch or you will not be able to accurately judge what is shooting well.

Just my 3 cents!

Peace,
Steve

Buckmaster G2
QuickTune Drop-Away 4000
Trophy Ridge Matrix
Carbon Express CX Hunter
NAP Scorpion XP100
Old 08-24-2004, 09:58 AM
Nontypical Buck