Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 WONDERING WHAT BROADHEADS I SHOULD SHOOT >

WONDERING WHAT BROADHEADS I SHOULD SHOOT

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

WONDERING WHAT BROADHEADS I SHOULD SHOOT

Old 03-28-2004, 08:17 PM

Default WONDERING WHAT BROADHEADS I SHOULD SHOOT

HEY GUYS I AM NEW TO THIS SO I WILL ASK A SEEMINGLY SIMPLE QUESTION. I JUST BOUGHT A 02 MODEL BOWTECH EXTREME SOLO, 28" DRAW 60-70 LB LIMBS. I SHOOT CARBON EXTREME 6075'S CUT TO 27 INCHES WITH 100 GRAIN FIELD POINTS. I WAS WONDERING WHAT WOULD BE A GOOD BROADHEAD FOR WHITETAIL. MECHANICALS OR FIXED BLADES AND WHAT WEIGHT WOULD BE GOOD. THE GUY I BOUGHT THE BOW FROM SAID HE SHOT 27 IN. ACC EASTON 3-49'S WITH 90 GRAIN MUZZY'S AND SAID IT WAS SHOOTING 302 FPS. WHAT WOULD BE THE BEST SETUP FOR MY PARTICULAR BOW AND ARROWS? THANKS FOR THE INPUT FELLAS.
Old 03-28-2004, 10:20 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: WONDERING WHAT BROADHEADS I SHOULD SHOOT

You should geve the slick tricks a try. Super accurate head and about the toughest out there.

Try shooting 100 and 125 grain field tips to see which weight head will give you better performance.
Old 03-28-2004, 11:29 PM

This part of your statement should be your absolute guide until you know your way around the block.

HEY GUYS I AM NEW TO THIS SO….
I suggest that you restrict your setup to your present abilities, and your gear to the tried and true. You will have plenty of time to get "rad" and "zoomy" and play with all kinds of gadgets once you tire of just plain bowhunting.

The best setup for you must be determined by you. Suggestions can be given, but in the end what works or worked for another person may not work for you.