HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting Gear Review (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review-31/)
-   -   Compound or Recurve?? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review/44985-compound-recurve.html)

Epuller 12-02-2003 02:34 PM

Compound or Recurve??

I am new to the Archery world and currently own a Browning Recurve Bow.

I was just interested to see what other members would recommend in Hunting White Tail.
I am a pretty fair shot up to about 20 yards. After that it gets a little skittish.

You seem to be able to pick up Compounds around here, quivers, arrows and all for about 60-65 bucks.

Epuller 12-02-2003 02:39 PM

RE: Compound or Recurve??

Also this was my 1st post and I look forward to drawing from all of your woodsy experiences.
Thank you all for participating.

Raymond van Halm 12-02-2003 02:45 PM

Whats the poundage on your recurve?

I have shot my deer all under 20 yrds, but i took them with a compound.
I am working on my first real hunt with a recurve to.
My recurve is 45#
Sharp broadheads are more important......

Epuller 12-02-2003 02:52 PM

Recurve is 47#'s.
I will not have the fastest arrow in flight, but I am sure it should do the trick.

Maybe not though.
I just liked the thought of the traditional stategy. They were bringing bucks down long before we made the tech advances.
Lots of good technology out there though.

dathein 12-02-2003 10:26 PM

Where in the world can you find an entire compound setup for $60-$65??? As far as a recommendation . . . . . you need to go with what you are most comfortable with. I prefer traditional. At times it can become very frustrating, but it is also very rewarding. Just my 2 cents. :D

Arthur P 12-02-2003 10:39 PM