Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Dead Ringer Broadheads

Old 08-10-2016, 04:38 AM
Fork Horn

Default Dead Ringer Broadheads

I have been shooting Muzzy 4 blade 100 grains since 2003 with great results. However, had my 70lbs Bowtech Extreme VFT tuned up this summer: IQ 5 pin micro sight, Limbdriver Pro V rest, Victory Elite VAP 350 arrows with blazers and a new quivers due to the smaller diameter arrows. Completed a full walk-back tune to 60 yards and am extremely happy with the performance. For some reason I started looking at the new lineup of broadheads and came across the Dead Ringer line. The Rampage and the Freak Nasty look interesting (marketing not withstanding). Youtube videos were also impressive. Ran a search, but could not find anything here after 2005.

Thought I would see if anyone had some real world experience. If not, may grab a pack, test them and report.
Old 08-22-2016, 12:00 PM
Fork Horn

Since no one seemed to have a review in these, I thought it was my turn. I bought a pack of the Dead Ringer Freak Nasty 100 grain broadheads to test out. Package contained 3 broadheads with O rings and 3 additional O rings. First thought was the ferrul is narrower then I my tried and true Muzzy 100 grain 4 blades. Also the Trocar tip appears smaller when side by side to the muzzy's.

Pulled out the reloading scale and verified zero. My field tips all were dead on at 100 grains. First Dead Ringer weighed 102.5 grains, second 102.3 grains and the last broadhead was 101.8 grains. Was hoping for better tolerances and closed to the 100 grain mark. These were weighed with the O rings on. O rings all weighed 1.5 grains by themselves.