Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
Safety Harness tether length issue >

Safety Harness tether length issue

Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Safety Harness tether length issue

Old 09-18-2011, 03:29 PM
Spike

Default Safety Harness tether length issue

Hello,
I'm kinda new to tree climber type hunting. My wife bought me a HSS safety vest (the reversible one). I did a test climb up/target shoot in the tree I plan to hunt from and I found that the tether connecting me to the tree strap is too short to comfortably draw back on a right angled shot. Is there a method for lengthening it? In order to make a practice shot I had to run my draw arm over the tether at a steep angle and under the tether for a longer shot. That's just not going to work.
There are several folds in the harness for shock absorption. How detrimental would it be to remove one or two of the three folds?
Old 09-20-2011, 05:23 PM
Fork Horn

Do not remove any of the folds in the harness it will ruin it what i do is usually put the harness strap as high in the tree as possible so that when you sit down the tether strap is taught this will let you draw in almost any position. One guy that i hunt with sets his tether at his waist level when standing and that works best for him. I say just mess around with placement on the tree until you find something that works for you but if you cut the tether folds you might as well throw the vest in the trash it will not do you any good if you were to fall.
Old 09-21-2011, 07:07 AM
Fork Horn

I have to agree with 8 Tines. The strap connecting you to the tree is always going to be an issue but it is less of an issue than bouncing off the ground. Just for me I like some taught tension on my harness when I sit down. I have no problem shooting to either side.
Old 09-22-2011, 04:47 AM
Nontypical Buck