Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

treestand safety

Old 01-12-2011, 10:08 AM
Spike

Default treestand safety

In your opinion, which is safer? A climber or a lock on. I'm new to archery hunting and I want to be as safe as possible. I also just purchased my first lock-on. Its a Big Game Boss Lite. Seems pretty sturdy. I set it up at about 2' off the ground, climbed in and bounced around some in it. I also added an extra strap, just to be a little safer. The safety harness it came with looks a bit flimsy, so I am going to go with a HSS. Its 8 more months till deer season starts, so I'm stiil looking. Any help or recommendations would be appreciated.
Old 01-12-2011, 12:43 PM
Boone & Crockett

Actually both are relatively the same safety wise if used as directed. With the climber it is easier to have your safety harness attached to the tree and slide it up as you go. With the lock on, it is a PITA with the harness trying to get it over the tree steps/stick ladder. If you go with the lock on, be sure to get yourself a harness with a climber belt to install your treestand and then a 'lifeline' rope for getting in and out during hunting season. This lifeline attaches at the top (above your stand) and at the bottom (ground) and has a sliding loop that you attach your harness to in case of a slip.
You rarely hear of an accident caused by treestand faliure or while in the tree. most often falls are from getting on and off the stand. With a lock on, you last step should be level or just above your stand so you can step over onto it and not up onto it.
Old 01-15-2011, 03:22 AM
Fork Horn