Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

One Pin Sight

Old 12-18-2010, 03:04 PM
Spike

Default One Pin Sight

Hi there i'm looking for a one pin sight and i have around 200$ to spend on it. What sight should i buy? I'm new to bowhunting and i have a 5 pin sight on now and don't like it.
Old 12-18-2010, 04:45 PM
Boone & Crockett

Dan - I don't know about your hunting situation but personally I do not care for a one pin sight. I hunt the woods and a deer can pop out of nowhere and disappear just as fast and at varying distances. I normally range trees all around my stand and I use a 5 pin sight. IMO fiddling with a one pin sight getting it set at the proper range wastes valuable time and maybe costing you the buck of your dreams.
As an example, I watched Phil Phillips draw back on a bull elk that took him by surprise and at 20 yds he shot about 3 ft over his back. He stated later that his one pin sight that he normally has set at 30 yds got bumped and was set for somewhere around 80 yds.
Its your money but you might want to reconsider. And good luck with whatever you choose.
Old 12-21-2010, 07:32 AM
Spike

I have an HHA and love it! the sight is very easy to move, i usually leave it set at 25 yds and can confidently shoot to 40 with it set like that, the customer service is top notch to, I stripped out screw holes on the sight, (my fault) and called them, i am not even the original owner of the sight and they sent me a new piece no questions asked out the door that day on my bow 2 days later, no charge
Old 12-25-2010, 05:00 PM
Fork Horn

HHA has high quality movable sights. I use an OL-5519 and it's extremely durable, reliable, and solid. Great product; you won't be dissappointed!
Old 12-28-2010, 05:36 AM
Spike