Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
Is it worth it to spend the money? >

Is it worth it to spend the money?

Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Is it worth it to spend the money?

Old 04-20-2010, 10:49 AM
Fork Horn

Default Is it worth it to spend the money?

This is my first year bowhunting (I started shooting a bow in July) and I just started out with the cheapest accessories on my bow. The sight I have right now is just the basic $20 plastic sight with 3 pins. I like the look of the Spot Hoggs (I was looking at the Right on, with 5 pins and the hogg wrap for $125). However, my fiance tells me its a waste of money because the one I have works good enough. I agree, the sight I do have works, but is it wrong to want a better one? It's a pretty good chunk of money to spend..do you think I'm better off with the better sight or should I just use the one I have? I mostly just want it for the extra pins, plus they are smaller and brighter and I have heard this sight is almost indestructible. I was recently given $100 as a gift so I have that money lying around. Your thoughts would be appreciated
Old 04-20-2010, 03:45 PM
Fork Horn

Well there are advantages to higher priced sights,(ie. brighter,easier and more accurate adjustments and better durability to name a few!
IMO an all aluminum sight is the way to go!
Welcome to the addiction,you will always find a reason to spend money,its an addiction we can't control ourselves..LOL
Old 04-20-2010, 06:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

You couldn't even imagine the difference between the cheap plastic sight you have and the all metal bomb-proof Spot-Hogg design! Man, they are night and day difference! Buy the Spot-Hogg and atleast you won't ever have to worry about another sight.
Old 04-27-2010, 08:14 AM
Typical Buck