HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting Gear Review (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review-31/)
-   -   going carbon or not (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review/304603-going-carbon-not.html)

m9a9g9i9c 09-23-2009 07:02 AM

going carbon or not

ok,

I'm shooting fmj's and having no problem, they do what I tell them to do, hit where I want and fly like I want.
But since I crancked up my 60# bowtech 82nd and shot her through the chrono I want to change certain things.
I only got 256 out of her, so I ordered a new string and now I'm concidering going to all carbon arrows to reduce the weight.
My question is how durable are they and how many have shot splintered arrows and got out without bleeding or stitching ?

Frank

Bernie P. 09-24-2009 05:09 AM

I've no experience with FMJ's so I cant say how much difference there is in durability but all carbons are plenty tough.Only a total moron would risk shooting a splintered arrow.

live2Draw 09-24-2009 07:32 AM

Originally Posted by Bernie P. (Post 3452085)
I've no experience with FMJ's so I cant say how much difference there is in durability but all carbons are plenty tough.Only a total moron would risk shooting a splintered arrow.

Agree! it takes all of 10 seconds to inspect your arrows before you shoot.

Sniper151 09-25-2009 05:51 PM

I would stay with the FMJ's or ACC's for the fact that they both use an aluminum exterior or interior. I have witnessed far too many hollow carbon arrow failures that have resulted in injury to the shooter. You also may want to check out the Easton XX78 Super Slams. They are a premium aluminum arrow and they weigh less per inch than the FMJ's.

m9a9g9i9c 09-28-2009 09:46 AM

thx, that the kind of info I was looking for.
I don't want to drop safety issues for the sake of speed.

F.

Valentine 09-28-2009 03:56 PM

Stayed with aluminum; nothing derogitory with carbon