Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

going carbon or not

Old 09-23-2009, 07:02 AM
Typical Buck

Default going carbon or not

ok,

I'm shooting fmj's and having no problem, they do what I tell them to do, hit where I want and fly like I want.
But since I crancked up my 60# bowtech 82nd and shot her through the chrono I want to change certain things.
I only got 256 out of her, so I ordered a new string and now I'm concidering going to all carbon arrows to reduce the weight.
My question is how durable are they and how many have shot splintered arrows and got out without bleeding or stitching ?

Frank
Old 09-24-2009, 05:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've no experience with FMJ's so I cant say how much difference there is in durability but all carbons are plenty tough.Only a total moron would risk shooting a splintered arrow.
Old 09-24-2009, 07:32 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Bernie P.
I've no experience with FMJ's so I cant say how much difference there is in durability but all carbons are plenty tough.Only a total moron would risk shooting a splintered arrow.
Agree! it takes all of 10 seconds to inspect your arrows before you shoot.
Old 09-25-2009, 05:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would stay with the FMJ's or ACC's for the fact that they both use an aluminum exterior or interior. I have witnessed far too many hollow carbon arrow failures that have resulted in injury to the shooter. You also may want to check out the Easton XX78 Super Slams. They are a premium aluminum arrow and they weigh less per inch than the FMJ's.
Old 09-28-2009, 09:46 AM
Typical Buck

thx, that the kind of info I was looking for.
I don't want to drop safety issues for the sake of speed.

F.
Old 09-28-2009, 03:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Stayed with aluminum; nothing derogitory with carbon

Always considered myself a part-time archer; full time gun hunter.