HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting Gear Review (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review-31/)
-   -   New Bow (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-gear-review/254189-new-bow.html)

HerbGrundy 07-24-2008 05:31 AM

New Bow

Hey All...I'm new to this forum and looking for some advice from those of you that know bows! I've been shooting a Golden Eagle for quite a few years....I know, a little old....and heavy....but all in all a good shooting bow. I'm in the market for a brand new bow. I've been looking in outdoor life magazine at their bow test 2008. I want to buy a Mathews because of their reputation and how they shoot, but was not impressed with the rating they got in Outdoor Life (at least the new DXT model). I know the Drenaline scores very well..but I'm not sure if Im ready to spend $850-900 on a bow. So here's the question. Mathews also makes Mission bows...at least I think that's correct. I started looking at the impressive Mission Journey....new for this year. And the best part is that it's only $599. Does anyone know anything about these Mission bows and the relationship between Mathews and Mission? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

WVSPORTSMAN 07-24-2008 09:31 AM

RE: New Bow

mission is a good bow, mathews is mission archery, sorta like bowtech and diamond. Shoot a bunch of bows, stay in your budget and pick something that fits you. Don't trust everything you read in those mags, find out for yourself...o'l and have fun doing it....welcome to the forum

HLTJR 08-02-2008 08:27 PM

I didn't want to spend the money either. I shot the general and the DXT. I was far more impressed with the smoothness and quietness of the DXT. I like cause it is short and I am vertically challenged. Afterall DXT is for Drenalin XT. Go with what feels good in your hand and pocket book. They are expensive i got close to 1200 tied up in mine. But don't regret it .

odom82 08-02-2008 09:40 PM