Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Opinions Needed - Hoyt Trykon >

Opinions Needed - Hoyt Trykon

Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Opinions Needed - Hoyt Trykon

Old 03-07-2008, 07:38 AM
Typical Buck

Default Opinions Needed - Hoyt Trykon

A friend of mine has finally talked me into getting into bow hunting and archery. I've found a fully set up Hoyt Trykon (2 years old) that one of my co-workers is asking $400 for.

It comes with more stuff than I know exactly what it is (I'm an archery newbie). Stabilizer, whisker bisquit, tru-glo single pin sight, quiver, case, arrows (4), release, etc.

I'm okay with the price, I just wanted to get some input on the bow itself.

All input is welcome. Thanks in advance.

Old 03-07-2008, 08:36 AM

Default RE: Opinions Needed - Hoyt Trykon

The bow itself is outstanding, and the price is good. You won't be taken for a ride.......

BUT.....since you are a newbie, and don't know much about it.....Make absolutely 100% certain the draw length is correct, and the draw weight. The Zephyr cam on the Trykon is a non adjustable draw length, it is what it is and you can't change it if it's too short/long without buying new cams, and also possibly new cables, string and limbs. Make sure......And I mean SURE.......that draw length is correct for you.
Old 03-07-2008, 10:07 AM
Typical Buck

Yeah, my friend will be going with me to make sure that the draw length is where it needs to be. How exactly does one know what the draw length should be on a bow?

Old 03-07-2008, 10:18 AM

IMO I found that the break over on the trykon was a little rough. It breaks over real hard to me. I would shoot it first to make sure you are comfortable with the break over as you get into the letoff
Old 03-07-2008, 02:46 PM