Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Stil Skeptical on Expandables... >

Stil Skeptical on Expandables...

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Stil Skeptical on Expandables...

Old 07-18-2007, 06:53 PM
Banned

Default Stil Skeptical on Expandables...

Do these things work, i was thinking about buying a few just to shoot some fawns with. I cant trust them.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Stil Skeptical on Expandables...

They absolutely work. I have been using them for 5 years now. The only reason I would consider not using them is if I had to shoot thru netting in a ground blind.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:02 PM
Banned

Which ones do you recomend, because i saw some Eastmans, 3 for 15$.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Being skeptical about modern mechs would be foolish , they've clearly proven to be exceptional products as long as you select one of the quality offerings on the market. Mechs like the Rocket Steelhead have earned a reputation as not only outstanding mechs, but kings of penetration and accuracy even when compared head to head with ANY fixed blade. They have won numerous pentration tests comparedwith any head in the industry. I've personally never shot a more devastating b-head! Dozens of deer have fallen to a Steelhead on the end of my arrows and EVERY one has been a total passthough and not a single animal has taken more then 60 yards on me. Worth mentioning is the fact that some of the deer have weighed over 300# and shots have been from 15 to 42 yards, the results have always been the same..... awesome!
Old 07-18-2007, 08:43 PM

I haven't really come to trust them yet. Only experience on game has been with the NAP Spitfire - mixed results. I'm going to hunt mainly with the G5 Montec this season and carry some Rage 2 blade expandables if a long shot comes up.