Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Expandables versus fixed broadheads >

Expandables versus fixed broadheads

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Expandables versus fixed broadheads

Old 11-29-2006, 07:19 AM

Default Expandables versus fixed broadheads

I have been using expandables since I restarted bow hunting 3 years ago. I am aware that the advantage to expandables is suppose to be improved flight and longer range accuracy versus fixed broadheads. I also realize that fixed broadheads have better pentration. What are other pros and cons of each, as I am debating going to fixed broadheads. Thanks ahead of time.
Old 11-29-2006, 10:59 AM

Default RE: Expandables versus fixed broadheads

if you goto fixed i would highly recommend the g5 montec. i have been useing them for 3 years now and they are just awesome. they fly just like a field tip and you get great penetration. i have not lost a deer in the three years that i have been useing them...
Old 11-30-2006, 02:36 PM
Fork Horn

if you want to get good penitration just get some rocket steelheads ive shot through both shoulders of quite a few deer and have gotten total pass throughs every time except two straight down spine shots where i got more then half the arrow through the spine and into the lungs.
Old 12-02-2006, 12:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

Mechanical Pros:
Usually fly like field points.
Larger cutting diameter - better blood trails

Mechanical Cons:
Moving parts = potential for failure (Blades don't always open)
Thinner, unsupported blades break easier
Penetration my suffer if Kinetic Energy is less than 60 ft lbs KE
The ones with the rubber band are a pain to practice with.

Fixed Pros:
More reliable - blades are always open (piece of mind)
Stronger - more durable, especially on bone hits.

Fixed Cons: