Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 single pin adjustable vs. multi pin >

single pin adjustable vs. multi pin

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

single pin adjustable vs. multi pin

Old 10-10-2005, 02:04 AM

Default single pin adjustable vs. multi pin

thats pretty much it. i dont like having a ton of pins but want more range than just 3. i'm selling everything i have right now as a package and starting over fresh this winter.

does anyone have any opinions one way or the other on these 2 types of sights? i've never used an adjustable before but am interested in trying one out.

thanks in advance.
Old 10-10-2005, 06:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: single pin adjustable vs. multi pin

I've gone full circle on a lot of this stuff over the last 3 decades. Fixed pin, adjustable, and even pendelums. What I'm going to explain is based on actual shooting experience on the practice range at spots and 3D targets. Multi pins are OK if you need longer ranges out west and don't have time to adjust a sight. But I live in Pa. where most shots are 30 yards or less. I use a single pin slider (HHA OL-5000)now and for several reasons.
Bows today have eveolved into some decently speedy critters. Speeds in hunting bows are commonly around 260fps or more. With the slider set at 25 yards I have shot at various yardages to check POI. At about 18 yards it hits a high point of about 1 1/2" high. The low point of about 3" is at 32 yards. This allows me to shoot anything inside 30 yards with no holding low or high, just the middle of the vitals. No guessing yardage or thinking about which pin to use. Just pick the one in front of you, aim, and shoot. The only thing to think about is whether the deer is within 30 yards. With one pin the sight picture is nice and clean so you see more of your animal.