Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

what GPS are you using?

Old 07-27-2005, 02:43 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: what GPS are you using?

Another nice thing about Garmin is that you can get updates off their web site to take care of any glitches that might occur over time.
Old 07-28-2005, 09:19 AM
Spike

I've been using the Garmin 76 for a few years now. It's a non mapping GPS, but I carry topo maps printed from Maptech. So I didn't feel I needed a mapping one.
I like the word printed on the buttons and the large, high-res. screen.
Old 07-28-2005, 09:21 AM

I have the Magellan Sport Track Color which I got off of eBay for $150 with the street software. Picked up the topo software for $60 from eBay also. It's a nice unit with good battery life. I think the color option is nice. Makes it easier to distinguish waypoints and terrain features but probably not necessary. I just couldn't pass it up for the price.
Old 07-28-2005, 02:26 PM

Garmin GPS Map76S. Works great except in heavy wooded areas. The best GPS for the hunter and fisherman.
Old 07-28-2005, 07:35 PM
Typical Buck

Using a E-trex, made by garmin I think... works fine for me..
Old 07-29-2005, 03:06 PM
Boone & Crockett

Magellan Sportrack Map and I do like using it. The mapping feature is invaluable in my opinion. Not as much memory, or a color monitor, like some units but more than enough for the frequency and type of use that I am typically involved in. For the price it is a tough one to beat.
Old 07-30-2005, 02:36 PM

I use a Garmin eTrex and it may not be the fanciest on the market however it has everything I need to find those benches, parks etc.
No complaints here!
Old 07-31-2005, 10:17 PM

ORIGINAL: kshunter

ORIGINAL: HuntElk4Fun

ORIGINAL: RIStrutStopper

not sure what the color screen buys you....