HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowfishing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowfishing-51/)
-   -   Bighead Carp?? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowfishing/63968-bighead-carp.html)

Carpmaster 06-19-2004 08:39 AM

Bighead Carp??

Do you guys ever get bigheads??? Was wondering if so what type of habitat they like the most. Thinking of going on a shoot over to the Big Miss. for the first time and heard they wre over ther. Thanks for any help.

E.J.D. 06-19-2004 08:02 PM

RE: Bighead Carp??

theres a whole bunch of them in the illinois river, and their on the move north. what im hearing is they like to hang around backwaters, but close to the rivers moving current so they can face up current and feed, then get in the backwater to get out of the current. going this sat., will let you know what i see!

carptracker 06-26-2004 10:25 PM

I'm a scientist studying bighead and silver carp and working on methods to control and manage their populations. Among other things, I have been working on characterizing the habitat choices that radio-tagged bigheads and silvers choose for almost two years. E.J.D.'s description of bighead habitat is perspicacious, and is the kind of post that keeps me coming back to bowhunter sites - bowhunters watch fish and learn their habits in ways that other fishermen don't. Every once in a while I even learn something that I wouldn't have learned even through my research, or get ideas on new paths to take. It also helps keep me in touch with new range expansions. Anyway, as EJD noted, bigheads and silvers like to be in low velocity water, but not necessarily zero velocity. Bigheads like just a bit more current than silvers, but for some reason the silvers tend to use the bigger rivers more than the tribs unless the big rivers are flooded and/or muddy. Both fish like eddys a lot. Bigheads feed right on the surface sometimes, especially at night but sometimes in the day too. This makes them good