Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

hunting question

Old 11-11-2004, 09:28 PM

Default hunting question

This is my first year ml hunting. I am shooting a remington 700mls. Now when i go hunting and lets say i do not get a shot off what do i do with the load thats in it? Do i just shoot it off? That would scare deer right? Can i just take the nipple out and ram it through? Or do i just leave it in there? In illinois an unloaded ml is considered to not have the primer in it. Does this mean i can transport the ml in a vehicle with the load in it as long as the primer is not in it? Thanks
Old 11-11-2004, 10:16 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: hunting question

If you're not gonna be hunting again for a few days, go ahead and either fire the round off or take out the breech and push the bullet out from the muzzle toward the breech (ALWAYS make sure the primer is out before going that route).

If you're gonna be hunting the next day, It's ok to remove the primer and transport the gun back to camp/home. BUT in order to keep condensation from forming in the barrel (which would ruin your powder), leave it out side so it stays the same temperature as outside...............just protect it from any moisture (rain or dew). And when you go out the next day............make SURE the bullet is still seated tightly against the powder charge with your ramrod before you attempt to fire it.
Old 11-12-2004, 04:31 PM
Boone & Crockett

maliburacing

Check this string out

http://forum.hunting.net/asppg/tm.asp?m=817869
Old 11-12-2004, 04:44 PM