Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Bear and Black powder >

Bear and Black powder

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Bear and Black powder

Old 07-29-2004, 10:16 PM

Default Bear and Black powder

Hey Folks, I am new to front end loaders and have learned so much just in the past 4 nites that I have been reading the message boards ! My wife thinks I have an internet girlfriend since I have been on the computer so much lately.Thanks for answering most of my questions before I even ask them.
I do have a question though, does anyone hunt Bear with a M/L ? I have a 45 and have some 460 grn bullets comming from No Excuses ( recomended by some of you) Will this will take a bear out ? Is this too large of a bullet for a cow elk ?[&:]Russ
Old 07-29-2004, 10:46 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Bear and Black powder

I don't think you CAN have too big of a bullet for larger game. The No Excuses ought to serve you well for deer & anything bigger than that.

Might be pretty rough on Varmints though.
Old 07-29-2004, 11:04 PM
Dominant Buck

seeing you have a .45 caliber I would for sure go with the No Excuse bullets. I think the bigger the chunk of lead you can throw through them and do damage, the better the chance you have of getting your animal. Besides, these things shoot great out of my Black Diamond although mine is a .50 caliber.
Old 07-30-2004, 05:18 AM
Dominant Buck

Anybody willing to hunt something that considers them a food item with a single shot gun has bigger ones that I'll ever have ! [&:]
Old 07-30-2004, 06:27 AM
Nontypical Buck