Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Unload Inline after each hunt? >

Unload Inline after each hunt?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Unload Inline after each hunt?

Old 02-04-2004, 02:01 PM

Default Unload Inline after each hunt?

I am pretty new at muzzleloading, so have some questions that may seem simple to many of you. This one deals with unloading after each hunt. By this, I mean taking the 209 primer out and simply repriming with a new primer after an unsuccessful hunt.
I am not talking long times between hunts, but rather a single day or night. What I have been doing is loading two pellets of 777 under a 295 grn powerbelt. Priming with a 209 on the way to the stand. At the end of a mornings hunt, depriming and leaving the rifle as is until the evening hunt and simply reprime (with a new primer). If the first hunt of that load was an evening hunt, doing the same thing over night. After two hunts, remove the breechplug and unload (or shoot the load). I haven't extended the process past this limit of about 24 hours and wouldn't try it at all when the weather was wet etc.
Am I messing up, should I unload and reload after each hunt? Or perhaps should I or could I go longer?
Thanks
Hank
Old 02-04-2004, 03:19 PM

Default RE: Unload Inline after each hunt?

Sounds like you're ok with that. It would depend on the weather. In wet or rainy weather, you'd want to empty it after each hunt. Why take the chance on wet powder messing up an opportunity. I followed that advice and had no problems.
Old 02-04-2004, 04:19 PM

Not me! I shoot mine after every hunt! You never know when something could go wrong (accident, illness, or worse yet death) and you have a loaded weapon in your house that no one else knows has powder and ball in it! Besides, I just like burning powder and enjoy shooting my front stuffers every time I take them out!
Old 02-04-2004, 05:53 PM