Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

777 vd pyrodex

Old 12-31-2003, 07:27 AM
Fork Horn

Default 777 vd pyrodex

I just got a T/C Omega for christmas and will be using pellets instead of the powder. I am new to muzzleloaders and would like to know the differences and advantages of using 777 or pyrodex. I think they are about the same cost.

Alos suggestions on bullets for whitetails and a scope ($200) for the gun.

Thanks.
Old 12-31-2003, 02:32 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: 777 vd pyrodex

Since you have decided you will only use pellets first let me say you are not getting the full potential from your rifle IMO. You might load two pellets into the gun and have an acceptable load but I think if you work that load in 5 grain amounts up or down, you could have a fantastic shooting gun, for a lot less money.

The main difference between Pyrodex Pellets and Triple Se7en Pellets is cost and clean up. Triple Se7en I believe costs a little more. It does in my area in loose form then Pyrodex. Two pellets of one is very near the same power as two pellets of the other. Actually because Triple Se7en reduced the power of their product in pellet form, Pyrodex might have a sight and I mean slight edge in pellet form power over the Triple Se7en. In loose form Triple Se7en is 15% stronger then Pyrodex and must be loaded in reguards to that fact.

Triple Se7en clean up is wonderful. Water will clean the crud out of the barrel. Pyrodex is a little harder to clean is all. Some people have reported when shooting above 100 grains of T-7 they develop a crud ring in the breech. I have not found that the case, but I swab between shots. This might be why I have no ring.