Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Muzzleloader. Is it worth it? >

Muzzleloader. Is it worth it?

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Muzzleloader. Is it worth it?

Old 12-01-2020, 10:53 AM
Fork Horn

Default Muzzleloader. Is it worth it?

Hey everyone, I知 a duck and goose hunter from South Idaho. I知 also a deer and bear hunter. I am posting here because I知 debating on whether I should buy a muzzleloader or not. However, I知 not sure if it痴 worth it or not.

I have no experience whatsoever with muzzleloaders, so this is completely new to me.

My goal is to get experience with many different types of firearms, and then figure out what works best for me when I知 in the field hunting. I know how to use shotgun and rifle, but not muzzleloader and archery. These are the two I want to learn

Muzzleloaders are allowed in my state, but they have specific regulations. I値l have to look into that. Can someone give me advice? Is it worth it to get a muzzleloader? Any help will be appreciated, Jared
Old 12-01-2020, 12:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

well like anything thing is life,. if something is worth the money /time and what not's, will always be a personal thing

there are more steps to shooting a muzzleloader than some want to have, and more safety issue's one should be very careful about, to be safe!
Cost can be a LOT higher IMO< for a muzzleloader than for say archery gear,(although both can be cheaper or more costly pending what and how far you wish to take things) as with archery gear you can re shoot the same arrows over and over, most states have much longer archery season, for more game animals as well!, really good archery hunters can hunt small game and waterfowl even ,(requires different fetching and heads, but can be done with same bow)