Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Recommendations please for WA Legal deer muzzleloader? >

Recommendations please for WA Legal deer muzzleloader?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Recommendations please for WA Legal deer muzzleloader?

Old 12-17-2019, 10:57 AM
Spike

Default Recommendations please for WA Legal deer muzzleloader?

I'm looking at a T/C Breakopen 50 cal. 10138527 for Deer in Washington State, I will be hunting thick areas west of the mountains mostly. I'm a newbie and would really like some pointers on this, my experience with regular guns has been to buy good ones, not the most expensive but middle of the road. I guess $400 - $800 would be my price range, if anybody has an opinion on their favorites please let me know.
Once again, any advice would be appreciated.
Jim
Old 12-17-2019, 11:15 AM
Giant Nontypical

Looks like your only restriction is no scopes.

I would suggest a Optima V2 in nitride finish. Those are under $350.
https://www.muzzle-loaders.com/cvatm...en-sights.html

Next step up is the Accura V2 in nitride for under $500
https://www.muzzle-loaders.com/cva-a...-pr3122sn.html

Knight rifle still has Extremes on sale for $500 and with shipping its $540-$560. You really need the bare primer upgrade for these though and thats another $50ish shipped. Extremes are very well made with a Timney trigger also.
https://www.muzzleloaders.com/produc...-muzzleloader/

You would need this plug and adapter to make it a really good rifle. These bare primer conversion parts are top shelf. Ive used quite a few of them.
https://sskfirearms.lehighdefense.co...product_id=259
https://sskfirearms.lehighdefense.co...product_id=258

Last edited by Gm54-120; 12-20-2019 at 09:30 AM.
Old 12-19-2019, 11:34 PM
Spike