Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Knight Mountaineer .45 Cal 1:20 Twist Paper Patch Bullet Test >

Knight Mountaineer .45 Cal 1:20 Twist Paper Patch Bullet Test

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Knight Mountaineer .45 Cal 1:20 Twist Paper Patch Bullet Test

Old 07-17-2019, 12:41 PM
Fork Horn

Default Knight Mountaineer .45 Cal 1:20 Twist Paper Patch Bullet Test

I went out this morning to try 2 different bullets in my Knight Mountaineer .45 Cal 1:20 Twist, One of my Favorite Paper Patch Bullets that i have been Shooting for Several years, i have shot this exact same bullet to 500 Yards in my 1:30 Twist GM LRH Barrel in a TC Hawken Stock, With Peep Sights. I have turned out some impressive Groups over the last few years with this Particular Bullet, I started Shooting this Bullet not long after i Started shooting Muzzleloaders, This Bullet FLAT OUT Shoots! This morning’s go around proved no different in this New Knight Mountaineer 1:20 Twist. If i were a competitive Shooter i would NO DOUBT Shoot these against ANY Bullet out there, BRING IT ON! These things will hang with ANYTHING!!

The Bullet after i Patch them, I short patch these. I get these Bullets by the Box of 50 from Buffalo Arms, they are a Swaged Cupped Base Bullet, .444-400 (.444 Diameter, 400 Grains) Quality Control with these is IMPECCABLE, The majority will weigh to the 10th of a Grain of eachother (Again, they are Swaged, NOT CAST)

If i do my part, this little Bullet will do it’s

The little 300 Grain Grease Groove Bullet was a NO GO, It played out about like i figured it would, But i needed to know for sure. NO DOUBT i could get this MUCH better, but this was just me wanting to Tinker around with something Different. I have MUCH Better Bullets, And Several of them for this Particular Rifle, and Rate of Twist.

Old 07-17-2019, 03:07 PM
Typical Buck