Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Hornady xtp

Old 12-03-2014, 06:33 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by cayugad

This is my Optima shooting different XTPs. As you can see, with the right powder charge, they are very accurate. As for hunting, I would not be concerned if it was me, using them. Put them in the right spot and they will kill the game animal.

The question of, is there better bullets out there. Of course there are. I drive a GMC truck. Is there better trucks out there? Not in my book but I am sure a Ford owner or my friend who drives Toyota Tundras would argue that too. The bullet is a quality bullet. I think, and I do believe this as I have no in field experience, but I do believe that if placed in the right spot... you have a dead deer.

Falcon has shot numerous deer and hogs with them. Talk about testing the bullets faults. And if Falcon say they work... I sure would hunt with them. Good luck. Then Georgia deer are small anyway according to my brother in law who used to live in Statesboro.
I think they will do fine. Deer here range from 140 to bout 190 is a grown one. That's about an hour from me
Old 12-03-2014, 07:47 AM
Giant Nontypical

There have probably been more deer killed with XTPs than any other pistol bullet available for muzzleloaders...

I've killed a few dozen with the .429 in 300gr and my hunting buddy has killed a few dozen more with the 240gr...The fellow that developed the Savage smokeless designed that rifle around the .451 in 300gr XTP and that's all he uses...

Nothing wrong with a XTP for deer hunting...
Old 12-03-2014, 08:22 AM
Nontypical Buck

I don't think it's possible to count how many deer my hunting group has killed with XTPs. I've killed deer with most every bullet on the market and I have zero reservations about hunting with XTPs.
Old 12-03-2014, 01:26 PM
Boone & Crockett