Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
swabing between shots? >

swabing between shots?

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

swabing between shots?

Old 01-09-2014, 04:38 PM
Fork Horn

Default swabing between shots?

im new to muzzleloading and wandered if I should swab between shots when shooting? I use Pyrodex pellets and powerbelt bullets, and if I do what should I use?
Old 01-09-2014, 04:47 PM
Giant Nontypical

The only powder which you should not swab between shots with is Blackhorn with Pyrodex on the range I would swab between shots for max accuracy, when hunting I do not for up to 3 shots.
Old 01-09-2014, 04:54 PM
Fork Horn

ok thanks I will, also what do you use when swabing?
Old 01-09-2014, 04:56 PM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by blaZer_2
im new to muzzleloading and wandered if I should swab between shots when shooting? I use Pyrodex pellets and powerbelt bullets, and if I do what should I use?
You are going to have to let your MZ tell you if you should swab between shots to get the best accuracy.

The clinical answer is yes you should swab between shots with Pyrodex to maintain a clean bore because the stuff is corrosive.

However in a hunting situation this is not always practical or necessary. Especially if you are taking the MZ home at the end of the day and cleaning it.

Going back to your MZ if it will tell you if it likes to be shot clean or fouled! Some MZ's do not shoot very well on a clean bore and take a certain amount of fouling to get to shoot well. I have always ditched those MZ in favor of MZ's that shoot to point of impact on a clean, dirty or indifferent barrel but that is me. Test your MZ both ways and see where you point of impact is. If it likes it clean my suggestion is swab between shots with Pyrodex whenever practical..