Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
OK You Convinced Me, Used Shockwaves Instead >

OK You Convinced Me, Used Shockwaves Instead

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

OK You Convinced Me, Used Shockwaves Instead

Old 11-24-2013, 01:13 PM
Spike

I hunt caribou and deer with the 200SST, great bullet, accurate, deadly and light recoil.
Old 11-24-2013, 09:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Congrats on the harvest! Nice shot placement. I also like the 200 grain Shockwaves - they do really well for me...
Old 11-25-2013, 05:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've been using the bonded 250gr shock wave for several years with excellent results until this year. I posted back in oct a doe I shot and had some trouble finding her with a well placed shot from the SW. Early this month I shot a 14 inch 8pt at approximately 40 yards. I felt good about the shot and the buck ran off into a strip of woods that separates two small fields jinking his tail. When I see a deer jinking his tail after a shot that has always been a positive sign for me. When I got to where the deer was standing I found no blood or hair, I followed his tracks out of my food plot until the tracks came to where the field was growed up. All the weeds had red stems so I knew it would be impossible to find blood in it, but no big deal I saw exactly where he ran into the strip. I found two drops of blood where he went into the woods. I fully expected him to be lying in that strip, but he wasnt. I didnt find anymore blood other than the two drops. If he followed the strip of woods it would lead in into a super thick cottonwood thicket. I decided to back out and come back the next morning. At 7am I took my lab and me and her searched until 2pm with no sign of the buck. The cottonwood thicket is about 4-5 acres and we searched it from stem to stern. We searched the other field, the woods along the bay, the strip he ran into again, nothi