HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Black Powder (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder-23/)
-   -   RUSTED!!! CVA Optima (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/black-powder/386744-rusted-cva-optima.html)

KBacon 11-05-2013 02:47 AM

RUSTED!!! CVA Optima

Ok... I have been shooting my TC Omega for several years & love it... so I am not new to this...

But my cousin in just getting into hunting... after he killed a nice bukc w/ my gun last year.... So I was checking the local pawn shop for some deals... they have a decent optima that I am considering for $120... but then he reaches behind the counter & pulls out this Nickel Optima w/ synthetic stock.... and the outside of the barrel is pretty pitted... so I pull the breech plug & look down the barrel & it looked pretty crusty... couldn't tell much with the low light in the shop...

He told me I could have it for $20.... wondering if it would be possible to bring this "project" back from the dead??? Or if it's a lost cause that I should walk away from???

nchawkeye 11-05-2013 02:59 AM

No way to tell until you buy it and try to clean up...

A hundred strokes with JB Bore Paste can to wonders though...

It may group 3 inches at 100 yards vs 1 1/2...If ranges are within 100, it will
be a cheap deal...

Heck, the stock and extra parts are worth a 20...

falcon 11-05-2013 03:35 AM

Pass on the gun. Dealing with a badly rusty gun is not worth the hassle.

a1smokepole 11-05-2013 05:57 AM

If the optima for a 120 has a good barrel buy it .

JohnnyHildo 11-05-2013 06:12 AM

buy both guns. order a new barrel for the rusty one and sell one of them to your cousin. problem solved.

Muley Hunter 11-05-2013 06:29 AM

Offer him $120 for both guns. Then you can't lose.

cayugad 11-05-2013 08:00 AM